{ Building the future }

Roger Federer Foundation

Teach the teacher

One of the projects of the Roger Federer Foundation uses mobile technologies to offer software-based courses on didactics and education science to teachers in rural Zambia. Using this "teach the teacher" strategy a lot of teachers without formal training can be reached through software. Comerge is happy to contribute the software engineering of an important component from Zurich to this initiative!

Schools receive the video-based courses as apps on handhelds or memory sticks. Every course includes quizzes that the teachers take. The results of those quizzes make it possible to track progress and thus need to be transmitted back to the local and regional administrators. Comerge has developed the software for this (backend, API, offline-channel via SMS, and a Web App). 

The challenge

Data transfer in an offline world

The courses are brought to the schools as preinstalled apps on physical devices - the education of the teachers runs "offline". But how can you transfer the progress data of a teacher back into our online world to make it possible to react to potential problems? How can you use one handheld for teaching multiple teachers and still ensure that the quizz results stay confidential and are associated with the correct teacher? How can you find room for improvements of the courses? And how can you motivate teachers to stick with it and continue with the next module?

Although access to the Internet is not a given in rural Zambia, you can always find a GSM-capable mobile phone. Thus, the transfer of progress data is done via text messages.

Roger Federer Foundation: App bridges offline gap to Africa using SMS

Teachers send a code containing a user identifier, course identifier, and the result of the quizz to a phone number that is associated with our backend. Our software solution receives and processes the text message. A Web app makes it possible for the administrators to view and analyze this data and to encourage teachers again via the "offline"-channel of text messages to continue their education!

Roger Federer Foundation: Teach the teacher
Roger Federer Foundation: App to check teachers' progress
Roger Federer Foundation: An initiative with big effect

{ Zukunft gestalten }

Roger Federer Foundation

Teach the teacher

Die Roger Federer Foundation nutzt neue Technologien, um Lehrern in Sambia softwaregestützte Weiterbildungskurse anzubieten und so die Bildungsqualität im Land massgeblich zu erhöhen. Dank dieser "Teach the Teacher"-Strategie können viele freiwillige Laienlehrer erstmals didaktisch und pädagogisch mit Software ausgebildet werden. Comerge ist glücklich, bei diesem wirkungsvollen Projekt die Softwareentwicklung einer wichtigen Kommunikationskomponente von Zürich aus beizusteuern! 

 

Die Video-basierten Kurse gehen als Apps auf Tablets an die Schulen. Jeder Kurs beinhaltet Lernkontrollen, deren Ergebnisse auf einer Datenbank für regionale und lokale Administratoren verfügbar gemacht werden müssen. Comerge hat die entsprechende Software (Backend, API, offline-Kanal via SMS, sowie Web-App) dafür entwickelt. 

Die Heraus­forderung

User Experience in einer Welt ohne Internet

Die Kurse werden als vorinstallierte Apps auf Tablets an die Schulen gebracht - die Weiterbildung erfolgt "offline". Wie aber kann man die Daten des Lernfortschritts eines Lehrers zurückmelden, um bei Problemen gezielt eingreifen zu können? Wie kann man mit einem Tablet mehrere Lehrer ausbilden, so dass die Resultate der Lernkontrollen dem jeweils korrekten Lehrer zugeordnet werden können? Wie findet man Verbesserungspotentiale in den Kursen? Wie motiviert man Lehrer "dran" zu bleiben und das nächste Kursmodul auch noch zu machen? 

In Afrika ist zwar noch nicht jeder überall online, aber GSM-fähige Mobiltelefone sind sehr weit verbreitet. Die Lehrer senden also per SMS einen Code an eine Telefonnummer, die mit dem von uns entwickelten Backend assoziiert ist.

Roger Federer Foundation: App überbrückt "offline Gap" nach Afrika mit SMS

Der Code beinhaltet die Informationen zum Lehrer, dem Kursmodul und dem Ergebnis der entsprechenden Lernkontrolle. Unsere Software empfängt das SMS und liest die Daten in die Datenbank ein. Eine Web-App erlaubt es Projektadministratoren, diese Daten anzuschauen und auszuwerten und eben die Lehrer wiederum über den "offline"-Kanal SMS dazu zu motivieren, weiterhin dran zu bleiben!

Roger Federer Foundation: Teach the teacher
Roger Federer Foundation: App zur Prüfung des Lern-Fortschrittes
Roger Federer Foundation: Eine Initiative mit grosser Wirkung