{ Building the future }

Kaba Evolo Smart

Access manage­ment on the go

The Kaba Evolo Smart App brings access management to your fingertips.

Managing access rights on Kaba Evolo secured doors was previously done using a tailor-made, slow, and expensive legacy device. With the new Kaba Evolo Smart app, Comerge has developed a user-friendly, fast, and secure app. Used to configure white-lists of people who get access, the app is a quantum leap in terms of user experience.

Kaba smart App: Programming the door over NFC

The challenge

Combining two worlds

Two challenges defined this project: We had to create a user-friendly smartphone app for Android and communicate with the door-handle over NFC (near field communication). The app won the Git Security Award 2016 and shows that Comerge managed to excel both at creating an outstanding user experience and developing a reliable NFC communication stack. This app was developed at our one-stop shop sodtware development company from Zürich.

Kaba smart App: Using the testing door
Kaba smart app with keycard
Kaba smart App: Open doors using a badge

The idea

Use a smartphone

The legacy device used to write access lists onto doors was expensive, clumsy, and hard to operate for the user. Using the technologies provided by modern smartphones seemed to be the logical evolutionary step for Kaba's product management. Implementing the communication protocol supporting thousands of different Android devices proved to be quite the challenge.

The solution

NFC - Near Field Communication

Modern smartphones often come with an NFC-chip. We used NFC to establish a secure communication channel to send the access list updates to the locks.

{ Zukunft gestalten }

Kaba Evolo Smart

Schlüssel­management in der Hosen­tasche

Für Kaba entwickelte Comerge die Kaba Evolo Smart App und bringt damit das Schlüsselmanagement in die Hosentasche.

Die Verteilung von Zutrittsberechtigungen auf Kaba Evolo Komponenten geschah bis anhin mit einem langsamen und teuren Spezialgerät. Mit der Kaba Evolo Smart App hat Comerge eine benutzerfreundliche, schnelle und sichere App entwickelt. Die App wird zur Konfiguration der Zutrittsberechtigungen genutzt und ist ein Quantensprung in der Benutzerfreundlichkeit.

Kaba smart App: Programmieren der Tür über NFC

Die Heraus­forderung

Verbinden von zwei Welten

Zwei Herausforderungen stellten sich in diesem Projekt: Erstens die Erstellung einer ansprechenden, schnellen und benutzerfreundlichen Smartphone App für Android und zweitens die Kommunikation mit dem Türgriff über Nahfunk (NFC). Der erste Preis beim Git Security Award 2016 zeigt, dass Comerge die höchsten Ansprüche an User Experience Design erfüllen kann und gleichzeitig das Engineering Know-How hat, um ein hardwarenahes Kommunikationsprotokoll zu implementieren. Das ist Softwareentwicklung, welche Türen öffnet. Sie kommt aus einer Hand direkt aus unserer Softwareentwicklungsfirma in Zürich.

Kaba smart App: Arbeit an der Test Tür
Kaba smart App mit Badge
Kaba smart App: Tür öffnen mit Badge

Die Idee

Smartphone nutzen

Bis dahin bot Kaba für die Zugangskonfiguration ein eigenes Gerät an. Dieses war teuer, unhandlich und umständlich zu bedienen. Die Nutzung der Funktionen moderner Smartphones war für das Kaba Produktemanagement ein logischer Schritt der Digitalisierung. Die Entwicklung des Kommunikationsprotokolls welches mit tausenden unterschiedlichster Smartphones kompatibel ist, war eine interessante Herausforderung für unsere Ingenieure.

Die Lösung

NFC - Nahfeldfunk

Moderne Smartphones haben oft einen NFC-Chip. Wir haben NFC verwendet, um Updates der Zutrittslisten gesichert an die Schlösser zu senden.